Bad Blood

2.8
The irl iscovers a family secret and a past full of magic that could both save her and brin her in mortal danger in this suspenseful novel that ’ s perfect for fans of Katie Alender and Natasha Preston.

All sixteen-year-old Heather MacNair wants is to feel normal, to shed the intense paranoia she ’ s worn all year like a scratchy sweater. After her compulsion to self-harm came to light, Heather was kept under her doctor ’ s watchful eye. Her family knows she ’ s better—and there ’ s anythin she love more than for that to be true. She still can ’ t elieve she ’ s llowed to spend her summer vacation as she ofte does: at her grandmother ’ s home in Scotland, where she has lots of happy memories. Far away from all her problems save one: she can ’ t stop carving the Celtic knot that haunts her dreams into her hair.

Good friends and boys with Scottish accents can cure almost anything…except nightmares. Heather can ’ t stop dreaming about two sisters from centuries ago, twins Prudence and Primrose, who somehow seem tied to her own life. Their presence lurks just beneath the surface of her onsciousness, sending ripples through what hould be a peaceful summer. The twins might hold the key to putting Heather ’ s soul at rest…or they could slice her future deeper than any knife.
Year of the Publication
Available Languages
Series
Asin
B01HA4P9UO
Number of Pages
272
Original Title of the Book
Bad Blood
Publication Date
Published March 14th 2017 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers

Public Commentary

Post a Comment
You should sign in to post a comment
rated it

Because obviousl, this is so worrying. ( view spoiler) [ The three-tipped Celtic knot on my hip; an X on my inner thigh, a small circle in the middle; and on my upper arm just under my armpit, a spiral.

How is this different? ( …) ( hide spoiler) ] “ Heather, if you forget to give tattoo, get henna, or use a Sharpie, but why would you cut yourself? ” I glare at him.

rated it

I alway knew three things before going into book: it ad a super pretty cover, it ha about witches, and it was set in Scotland.

And truthfully, I as mostly in for he nove, there was one major issue that I did have with that took it down a crown.I 'm just going to hol out the issue I had with it first and foremost right at the top even though I usually place the issue at the bottom of he eview, because I eel like his is where perhaps the book missed its mark: no warning.

How descriptive it was also bothered me as well, and truthfully, it ha the fac I took down a crown because I lost the enjoyment of nove at thi point.

I just know people should now about the self-harm that does go on in this tal to help them determine before they read further.Okay, I just hought that needed to be said.

I admire her and the love interest well enough, but it ha n't a super big part of this novel and the ship never got really real for me.Where the true heart of tory was in the plot and atmosphere.

I love me a good witch book, and th was certainl one.

rated it

But then you get past the title ...

rated it

I was shocked by the descriptio of his ook, but the execution of the plot within thi book as n't as enjoyable as I understood it might hav.

I new there was going self-harm in this ook, but I as n't expecting to much of in and in great detail.

I personally love Scotland, so I ha particularl appy to be reading th book set in Scotland!

Overall, I felt his book ad great potential, but it ended up falling flat for me.

rated it

** Huge thanks to the publisher for letting me read his ook for free in exchange for n honest review! Now, what do I feel about the nove? I hought the ide was n't unique.Apparently, blood= magic.You know what that reminds me of???

That 's one thing you eed to say about this book.My main problem is the personality of the protagonist.

Books with the same Categories

Before We Were Strangers
Tombs of Endearment
The Good Husband of Zebra Drive
Bury Your Dead
Tarnished
Christmas at Carnton
Girl in the Shadows
Midnight Curse
If You're Reading This, It's Too Late
The Trials of the Honorable F. Darcy

Same Year of the Publication

Christmas at Carnton
Midnight Curse
Little Broken Things
Serenity Avenged
Red Rising: Sons of Ares #3
Life After Legend
The Baker's Secret
Going Zero to Sixty
Kill or be Killed, Vol. 1
City of Light, City of Poison: Murder, Magic, and the First Police Chief of Paris

About Authors

© Nicole Waggonner