Hello, Universe

4.17
Acclaimed author Erin Entrada Kelly ’ s eleventh novel for tweens is a hilarious and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships. Told from four intertwining points of view—two boys and two girls—the novel celebrates bravery, being different, and discoverin your inner bayani ( hero), and it ’ s perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt ’ s Fish in a Tree.

In one ay, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset, who is hearing impaired, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and she loves everything about nature. Kaori Tanaka is a self-proclaimed psychic, whose little sister Gen is always following her around. And Chet Bullens wishes the weird kids would just stop being so different so that he can concentrate on basketball. They aren ’ t friends, at least not until Chet pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of well. This disaster leads Kaori, Gen, and Valencia on an epic quest to revea missing Virgil. Sometimes four can do what one an not. Through luck, smarts, bravery, and thi little assis from the universe, a rescue is performed, a bully is put in his place, and friendship blooms. The acclaimed historia of Blackbird Fly and The Land of Forgotten Girls writes with an authentic, poignan, and irresistible tween voice that will appeal to fans of Thanhha Lai and Rita Williams-Garcia.
Year of the Publication
Available Languages
Series
Asin
B01HBPP12S
Number of Pages
320
Original Title of the Book
Hello, Universe
Publication Date
Published March 14th 2017 by Greenwillow Books

Public Commentary

Post a Comment
You should sign in to post a comment
rated it

There are surprisingly few Newbery contenders/winners I have read recently that I have thoroughly enjoyed and thought fit the requirement of being a distinguished and lasting contribution to American literature for children.

There is a lame conflict to begin with, one-dimensional characters that are pigeon-holed by one defining characteristic or personality trait, an anti-climactic climax, and a pat ending.The pacing of the las fifth of he novel as reall slow for me.

rated it

“ There are no coincidences. ” I was hoping to writ his book along with Amina 's Voice, but soo realized it wasn ’ t working in my favor me because as Ron Swanson likes to say, “ Never half-ass two things.

• We have a phenomenal first chapter from the pov of eleven-year-old Virgil Salinas with a supporting grandmother that tells of her dreams and stories!! • We also have an amazin cast of diverse characters who won over my heart:- Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his loud and boisterous Filipino-American family.- Valencia Somerset, who is deaf, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and hate everything about nature.- Kaori Tanaka, whose family is Japanese-American, is a self-proclaimed psychic with a little sister Gen as her second-in-command.• Can we take a minute to talk about how Kaori is one of my avorite characters ...

• the humor is on point: “ Something will happen to you, ” Kaori continued.Virgil looked at Gen. She shrugged. “ That ’ s it? ” said Virgil.

• So as Kaori had foretold to Virgil- “ What I mean is, I see you in dark place. ” “ Dark how? ” “ Just dark. ”- he'd gotten trapped at the bottom of an old well thanks to the worst of humans throwing Virgil's backpack, which had Gulliver, his pet guinea pig, in it.

• Oh, and circling back to the worst of humans, I have nly one thing to happe to the bully, Chet Bullens, whose family is probably full of Trump supporters… • On a les positive note, there 's some magical realism aspects thrown in to further enchant my heart.

• And the story continues full of busy happenings that lead to friendship, kinship and family.

rated it

when i think i want diversity in books ......... this sh* t is what i mean y'all.i 'm talking effortless, narrative-enriching, full characters who are ot defined by their diversity but, at the same time, are affected by it.EVERYONE TAKE NOTES.

whenever you 're getting so tired of YA you could scream ( and i remember it happens) ... middle grade is exactly what you are goin for.

rated it

In the center is Virgil Salinas, a highly introverted member of a large extrovert family who call him Turtle " Because he ould n't 'come out of his shell,' Every time they said it, a piece of him broke. " The exception is his Filipina grandmother Lola who calls him Virgilio, gets him completely, and asks him folk tales to bolster him through life 's challenges.

Here is where my admiration for Kelly 's writing really takes hold as she masterfully balances the emotionally of Virgil 's circumstances on that tightrope without a misstep.

Indeed, while these character storylines are all in hird person, Valencia 's is in irst person; from her tolerance of her mothe calling her an endearment she could do without to her forthright response to Chet, we easily see how crush-worthy she is.There is suspense as we hold our breath wondering how Virgil will be saved, there is humor ( especially from little Gen), and there is he slow evolution of different personalities, and of what coul be, we mus be certain, a warm friendship between Virgil, Valencia, and Kaori beyond the book 's ending.

Hello, Universe is one quiet, emotional book that I recommend highly.

rated it

Since it was the 2018 Newbery Medal winner I may have bee too high expectations.

rated it

I always like the variety of characters in the memoi.

I personally love it because everyone can move on with their adventures.This book reignited my desire to ead and I ’ m really happy for that.

If you ’ re goin for an entertainin read that has relatable characters and experiences then this is thi ook I recommend.

Books with the same Available Languages

The Sweet Life in Paris
Confessions of a Las Vegas Motorcop
Before We Were Strangers
Tombs of Endearment
The Good Husband of Zebra Drive
Bury Your Dead
Organizing Solutions for People With Attention Deficit Disorder: Tips and Tools to Help You Take Charge of Your Life and Get Organized
Tarnished
Dangerous Allies
Dragon's Rescue

Books with the same Categories

Before We Were Strangers
The Good Husband of Zebra Drive
Bury Your Dead
Tarnished
Christmas at Carnton
Girl in the Shadows
If You're Reading This, It's Too Late
The Trials of the Honorable F. Darcy
The Magician
Hector and Hummingbird

Same Year of the Publication

Christmas at Carnton
Midnight Curse
Little Broken Things
Serenity Avenged
Red Rising: Sons of Ares #3
Life After Legend
The Baker's Secret
Going Zero to Sixty
Kill or be Killed, Vol. 1
City of Light, City of Poison: Murder, Magic, and the First Police Chief of Paris

About Authors

© Nicole Waggonner