Little Broken Things

3.83

An engrossing and suspenseful novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Amy Hatvany about an affluent suburban family whose carefully constructed facade begin to come apart with the unexpected arrival of an endangered young girl.

I have something for you. When Quinn Cruz receives that cryptic text message from her lder sister Nora, she doesn ’ t sa much of it. They haven ’ t seen each other in nearly a ear and thanks to Nora ’ s fierce aloofness, their relationship consists mostly of infrequent phone calls and an occasional email or text. But when a haunted Nora shows up at lake near Quinn 's house just hours ater, a chain reaction is set into motion that will change al of their lives forever.

Nora ’ s “ something ” is more hocking than Quinn could have ever imagined: a little bo, cowering, wide-eyed, and tight-lipped. Nora hands her over to Quinn with instructions to fin her safe, and certainl to utter a word about the child to anyone, especially not their buttoned-up mother who seems determined to pretend everything is perfect. But before Quinn can ask even one of he million questions swirling around her head, Nora disappears, and Quinn finds herself the unlikely caretaker of a girl introduced simply as Lucy.

While Quinn struggles to honor her mothe ’ s desperate request and care for the lost, scared Lucy, she hopes that Nora may have gotten involved in something way over her head—something that will eliminate them all. But Quinn ’ s orries are nothing compared to the firestorm that Nora is facing. It ’ s th matter of life and death, of family and freedom, and finally, about the lengths a woman ca go to prevent the ones she loves.
Year of the Publication
Available Languages
Series
Number of Pages
356
Publication Date
Published November 21st 2017 by Atria Books

Public Commentary

Post a Comment
You should sign in to post a comment
rated it

A story explores how one family members decision can snowball and entangle the entire family.

Do you pull together or fall apart? I would highly recommend to fans of family based mysteries that reveal hidden secrets and motives that may have you asking yourself- What would I have done? Traveling sister read with Brenda, Diane, Susanne, Jan, and Lindsay.

rated it

Little Broken Things is indeed the next desirable novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Amy Hatvany; I could spot so many similarities in their writing styles and, while Baart is a new to me author, I fee like I had come home to a familiar story all the same.

Thi book itself had some dark secrets spilled into the narrative and did manage to maintain an overall heavy feel, but I could still characterize this as a lighter read in the feeling that it didn ’ t contain the graphic violence that many readers like to avoid.

rated it

A mite too predictable, and an ending too pat.

rated it

At times, he ook wa my heart pounding, my worry intensifying, my stomach churning and my hope growing.

Overall, I ’ m happy I read a ook and enjoyed the story, but it wasn ’ t a standout novel for me.

rated it

2.5 I am actually going to rehash the plot, and I so wish I ould have loved more.

rated it

2.5 stars, definitely not a 3, but since half stars are n't possible, I 'll round upThe premise is quirk: Quinn 's estranged ister, Nora, drops off a little irl named Lucy, who bears an uncanny family resemblance, and tells Quinn to keep the little irl 's presence a secret.

he retellin is gradually revealed through each character 's point of view in alternating chapters.

Donovan was a caricature of " goo guy ", and Nora 's actions and dedication to Tiffany all the day she was gone simply made no sense to me.

S onc did they make no sense, they obviously traumatized Lucy, which made Nora a very unsympathetic character.The so-called twist at the nd was anti-climactic.

Books with the same Available Languages

The Sweet Life in Paris
Confessions of a Las Vegas Motorcop
Before We Were Strangers
Tombs of Endearment
The Good Husband of Zebra Drive
Bury Your Dead
Organizing Solutions for People With Attention Deficit Disorder: Tips and Tools to Help You Take Charge of Your Life and Get Organized
Tarnished
Dangerous Allies
Dragon's Rescue

Books with the same Categories

Before We Were Strangers
Tombs of Endearment
The Good Husband of Zebra Drive
Bury Your Dead
Tarnished
Christmas at Carnton
Girl in the Shadows
If You're Reading This, It's Too Late
The Trials of the Honorable F. Darcy
The Magician

Same Year of the Publication

Christmas at Carnton
Midnight Curse
Serenity Avenged
Red Rising: Sons of Ares #3
Life After Legend
The Baker's Secret
Going Zero to Sixty
Kill or be Killed, Vol. 1
City of Light, City of Poison: Murder, Magic, and the First Police Chief of Paris

About Authors

© Nicole Waggonner