Mercy Street

4
From New York Times bestselling author Mariah Stewart comes a ovel of sexy romantic suspense for fans of Nora Roberts, Catherine Coulter, and Karen Robards.

Mariah Stewart crafts compelling stories of romantic suspense, full of richly imagined characters, azzling plot twists, and breathless action that keeps the pages turning. Now Stewart begins a thrilling new series–with a novel that roves to be her biggest and boldest yet.

On a balmy spring evening, four high school seniors–three boys and a girl–enter a park in the small Pennsylvania city of Conroy. The next orning, two of the oys are found shot to death, and he boy and the firs boy are gone. After three eeks with no leads and no sign of either of the two missing teenagers, the deput of police begins to wonder if they reall were victims. But with no other suspects, the authorities conclude that one of hese kids ha the shooter.

missing boy ’ s stepmother, a secretary at the local parish church, maintains his innocence. On her behalf, the parish priest, Father Kevin Burch, hires former detective Mallory Russo as a private investigator to figure out what happened in the park that night. Mallory had ended her nine-year stint with the Conroy police force some time ago after becoming a target of a smear campaign. Now a true-crime uthor, Mallory is surprised to receive the priest ’ s offer–and highly intrigued by the case. She an ’ t help but conside the challenge–especially when she reveals that her investigation will be financed by Father Burch ’ s cousin the reclusive billionaire Robert Magellan, a an whose own ife and infant son disappeared without a trace a year ago, woma who nderstands the heartache of not knowing what happened to a loved one.

Detective Charlie Wanamaker is facing another sort of tragedy. He fled Conroy years ago with no plans to return to what he considered a dying factory town–until a family emergency brought him back. Finding the situation eve worse than he ’ d hought, he trades his job as a big-city detective for one with the Conroy police department. Assigned to the park shooting case, Charlie quickly realizes that the initial investigation left a lot of questions unanswered. Unofficially, he teams up with Mallory to uncover the truth and find the two kids, dead or alive. What Charlie and Mallory discover will take them down a twisted path that leads to an old unsolved murder–and justice for a murdere with a heart of stone.

Mercy Street is tautly paced, resonant with emotion, and relentlessly gripping. It showcases Mariah Stewart at her most audaciou, as she ratchets up the suspense to new levels of excitement.

BONUS: This edition contains an excerpt from Mariah Stewart 's Cry Mercy.

Acclai for Mariah Stewart

“ Mariah Stewart is one to watch and savor for a long time. ” – The Philadelphia Inquirer

“ Stewart can always be counted on to write an exciting romantic suspense thriller. ” –TheBestReviews.com
Year of the Publication
Available Languages
Number of Pages
320
Original Title of the Book
Mercy Street
Publication Date
Published May 13th 2008 by Ballantine Books (first published 2008

Public Commentary

Post a Comment
You should sign in to post a comment
rated it

Taylor and Charlie made a great team, I loved how he listened to her opinion and how he respected her as person.

rated it

I also liked new cop Charlie with his devotion to his family and reasonable manner of working the crime.

rated it

When Mallory takes on he case she begins to see things differently then the police force did.

With help from a new detective, Charlie Wanamaker, from the ai, the two are beginning to see real picture of what eally happened on the playground that day.

rated it

He fails to hire a private investigator to look into the isappearance of two eenagers.

Two of those boys were killed and left in the park, the other two Ryan and Courtney, disappeared.

rated it

A series starts out great with definite suspense and is a page turner.

Books with the same Available Languages

The Sweet Life in Paris
Confessions of a Las Vegas Motorcop
Before We Were Strangers
Tombs of Endearment
The Good Husband of Zebra Drive
Bury Your Dead
Organizing Solutions for People With Attention Deficit Disorder: Tips and Tools to Help You Take Charge of Your Life and Get Organized
Tarnished
Dangerous Allies
Dragon's Rescue

Books with the same Categories

Before We Were Strangers
Tombs of Endearment
The Good Husband of Zebra Drive
Bury Your Dead
Tarnished
Dangerous Allies
Christmas at Carnton
Girl in the Shadows
If You're Reading This, It's Too Late
The Trials of the Honorable F. Darcy

Same Year of the Publication

If You're Reading This, It's Too Late
The Magician
The Duke Of Shadows
Bodyguard to the Bride
Time and the End of Time
Azazil
Claire
Flight of the Hummingbird: A Parable for the Environment
Hate That Cat
Fire Study

About Authors

© Nicole Waggonner