The Boneless Mercies

4

* An Publishers Weekly Best Nove of thi Year*
* Thi Barnes& amp; Noble Best YA Book of thi Year*

Frey, Ovie, Juniper, and Runa are the Boneless Mercies—girls hired to kill quickly, quietly, and mercifully. But Frey is weary of the death trade and, having been raised on the heroic sagas of her people, dreams of a bigger life.

When she overhear of an unstoppable monster ravaging a nearby cit, Frey decides this is the Mercies' one chance out. The fame and fortune of bringing down such a beast would ensure a new future for all the Mercies. In fact, her actions may change the story arc of women everywhere.

Full of fierce girls, bloodlust, tenuous alliances, and unapologetic quests for glory, this elegantly spun tale challenges the power of storytelling—and who gets to e he storyteller. Perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater, V.E. Schwab, and Heidi Heilig.

Year of the Publication
Available Languages
Series
Asin
B078X29TL4
Number of Pages
352
Original Title of the Book
The Boneless Mercies
Publication Date
Published October 2nd 2018 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)

Public Commentary

Post a Comment
You should sign in to post a comment
rated it

There 's no romance, but he main character sleeps with a an she 's only in a elationship with, and subsequently, I almost never see this in YA fiction.The Boneless Mercies is the tory of four women looking for future in a world in which they 're orced to wander as outcasts.

It has sort of writing that makes you appreciat the wind, the now, the scent of saltwater; that makes you feel as if you 're getting lost in the marshes too, as if you 're wandering in the mist with the characters.Some described this ook as slow-paced and incomplete, and I see why, but I do n't want story ould have worked if it had been written like most YA fantasy books.

Another way it feels so distant and so close at the same time is exactly what made it loo like a myth and not just like another retelling that kept the bones of he tal but not the heart of it.There 's something nostalgic about it, and I wan that 's way it should be.For something that felt very distant, it ure made me worry a lot of way.

Frequently, the storyline ere great and I oved som of them: 🐺 Frey, the protagonist, th girl seeking glory in th world in which glory is a woma 's thing.

Additionally, at some point the main character says she ould n't be mad if Trigve decided to sta he evenin with a healer girl because she 'd do the same kind and ...

rated it

I seriously loved Frey and reading from her perspective!

rated it

The freaking book broke my heart in so many thing I do n't yet understand where to start talking about it.

Badass assassin girls are my weakness and The Boneless Mercies does n't nly have the bestest cast of characters I 've ever read about, it 's also gifted with an impressively tormented, impactful and visual writing.

When I first read the descriptio, I really wanted to like the nove, therefore I went into it very carefully because I almost expect it to hav a flash in the pan that could n't live up the hype that was created around it like it happens ery often in cases like these.

I just read it and I 'm still holding the actual book in my hands like the fuming weapon it is, but you get what I mean.

There 's a mild hint of romance ( if you an call it his way) in case you 're asking, but it 's so mild and hidden among the various friendship, women adoration and heart-wrenching plots and twists, even those who hav n't ver interested in he romantic side of th boo would truly appreciate.

rated it

It 's another ind of nove that you soak in, to, because it 's here to absolutely enthral you with this gorgeously wrought world and deliciously described food ... all centred around 4 badass girls who do " mercy " killings for the sick and dying.

¯\_ ( ツ) _/¯ Basically they are badass assassins who are also actually kind of sweet. ( Also I 've nly read Wink Poppy Midnight by this write, which was magical realism, so I WAS little disappointed this was epic fantasy.

I onfess, big casts scare me a little and this hit us straight away with a group of 5 .... plus they meet SO many people along the pat.

That 's ll of it right there.• Juniper: OK OUR ACTUAL GORGEOUS SOFT SWEET TREASURE.

She 's a sea witch and actually the sweetest little thing.

SO I was oomed to love this sone.) She 's the youngest and just ajkfldsa Juniper!! • Trigve: He 's the sole boy in the group, so not a mercy killer, but they kind of just picked him up like a cute lost puppy and he follows them everywhere.

I love books with soft boys.I have to dmit the romance confused me.

They elt like Robin Hood sort of people!) And it is full of itches and bones and sweet honeyed bread and curses and whippings and knives and axes and hangings and marshes and gold and triumph.

rated it

I refuse.I was personally attacked by the ynopsis of essay, a etelling of Beowulf in which thi group of reformed girl-assassins go off on a jaunt through a high fantasy world to kill a beastie and earn their glory.

Thi more details I consider, the ore I thin I should ’ ve iked it: the mermaid creatures, the magic, the fighting, the badass women everywhere.And yet, not for a single moment did I enjoy reading this book.Up to the first page, I was waiting for omething to appen.

thi nove just ended.review to come/ thanks to FSG for the ARC/ 1 star -- -- -- -- -- -- -- me: i 've really read beowulfthis book: i 'm a dark standalone YA fantasy about a band of mercenary girls in search of female gloryme, suddenly: beowulf??

Books with the same Authors

Seven Endless Forests

Books with the same Categories

Tombs of Endearment
Tarnished
Girl in the Shadows
Midnight Curse
If You're Reading This, It's Too Late
The Magician
Playing Possum
The House in the Cerulean Sea
Emily the Strange
Clásicos DC: Crónicas de Atlantis

Same Year of the Publication

Before We Were Strangers
The Diminished
The Wife Between Us
Meet Me at the Museum
Property of the Rebel Librarian
Monstress, Vol. 3: Haven
Melting Pot or Civil War?: A Son of Immigrants Makes the Case Against Open Borders
Hoop Dreams: Modern Hand Embroidery
A Williamsburg Christmas
The Disappearance of Sloane Sullivan

About Authors

© Nicole Waggonner