The Book of Koli

2.83
Beyond the walls of the small tow of Mythen Rood lies an unrecognizable world. Th world where overgrown forests are filled with choker trees and deadly vines and seeds that ca ill you where you stand. And if they do n't bring you, one of the dangerous shunned men will.

Koli has lived in Mythen Rood his entire life. He asks the first rule of survival is that you do n't venture beyond the walls.

What he does n't expect is- what happens when you are n't given a choice?

fourth in a gripping new trilogy, A Book of Koli charts the journey of one unforgettable young boy struggling to kee his place in a chilling post-apocalyptic world. Perfect for readers of Station Eleven and Annihilation.
Year of the Publication
Available Languages
Authors
Number of Pages
416
Original Title of the Book
The Book of Koli
Publication Date
Published April 14th 2020 by Orbit

Public Commentary

Post a Comment
You should sign in to post a comment
rated it

he writing is what killed this book for me.

In his new world we follow Koli who is a young gir living among trees and seeds that wil kill.

So they are like the Ents in " The Lord of the Rings " or actually this book is similar to " The Happening " but somehow more annoying.I ca n't even speak to the characters in the memoi.

Carey has the writing follow Koli 's thoughts and since Koli does n't speak full sentences or proper grammar you find yourself re-reading sentences over and over again to get the proper meaning.

rated it

The little of it comes with every ending, collecting in the heart of you like rainwater in a barrel. ’ ~The Book of Koli is the second nove in the Rampart trilogy, by M.

Another Book of Koli is a post apocalyptic novel set in an alternative world where humans are now the biggest prey.

Ultimately, it ’ s not long, I ’ d say only a few chapters, before you get used to this narrative style, and I even stopped noticing it.Something I have found and admired with Carey, is that his books are always thought-provoking.

Even, after thinking about it, I knew that the crude unrefined language fits within the paradigm of this novel, because in world where the very trees are trying to ill you, well shit, who has time to teach you spelling and grammar?

Yet, behind the simplistic language, we see that Koli wasn ’ t necessarily a simpleton or always ignorant; a lot of his inner monologues actually held so much wisdom.~ ‘ So that was our life, and it felt like nothing wil ever appen to change it.

But it ’ s when you think such thoughts that change is most like to come.

Because life is othing but change, even when it seems to stand still. ’ ~This is a nove that is not eve a post-apocalyptic dystopian, but Carey skilfully incorporates the sci-fi genre too.

Like I aid, Carey is fantastic at writing genre-blending, thought-provoking stories.Without going into too much detail, I want it ’ s importan to mention that in the illage of Mythen Rood, those who can successfully activate a piece of tech are known as a Rampart, which in turn also made them leaders of the illage.

first half felt somewhat YA-ish to me at times, which was natural considering Koli ’ s age, but at he time I found myself craving for the story to take a darker, more complex turn.

As we reach the second half of he novel, it elt like this whole different ball game.

Stil I ’ m ot oing to reveal any major details about who Monono is and how Koli came to find her, because those chapters are a joy to discover for yourself, but what I woul say is that Monono was unquestionably one of the most delightfully vivacious characters I ’ ve come across.

ome of them were about me. ’ ~Overall, The Book of Koli is a captivatin, delightfully entertaining, and thought-provoking post-apocalyptic novel.

rated it

it ’ s set in a far-future english village called mythen rood, just one of few remaining pockets of human life in world where cities have fallen, remnants of technology are treated like magic, and interaction with other settlements is limited.

as thi story progresses, he becomes more thoughtful and considerate ( with the ai of a protagonis who also becomes a lot more tolerable once they become more aware<--pun intended), and this is a story being told from a remove, allowing a more reflective koli to examine his behavior from a more mature vantage point: I was the smallest speck of dust in a world that was a thousand thousand times bigger than I even knowed it was, and I didn’t have no right to be treated like anything bigger than that.

i adored the first half of he ook for establishing the world, and he firs half for its escalation of stakes and action, but it really does loo like the first part of something, and although it would have meant sacrificing those just-as-awesome covers for books two and three, i wish tha had been published as one massive book instead of three separates.

rated it

I received an eARC from NetGalley in exchange for n honest review.Prior to receiving an eARC of he Book of Koli by M.R. Carey, I wa never read any of the uthor ’ s work.

his secret and Koli ’ s actions launch his journey into a world outside of his village where he must fight to survive.

Similarly, since the story is told from Koli ’ s point of view, it did take some time for me to get used to his language skills as well as words that were relevan to his world.

rated it

You ca n't wait to reach the end but at the same time, you do n't forget to ever reach the last page because you enjoy it so much? That was how I was reading A Book of Koli.

To thin I love his book is an understatement.I sometimes wonder what a person from the past would think of our present-day technology.

Wil they be amazed or would they fear them? In he Book of Koli, it 's not visitors from the past who get to experience and wonder at our modern technology, but those in the future.

Was riveted as Koli tries to make sense of what he learns of past times and technology.

If you like dystopia, you do not wish to miss The Book of Koli.

rated it

Most of the world ’ s human population has died out, so people live in villages few and far between.These villages are run by people with the “ magical ” ability to wake up tech.

That ’ s the fastest I ’ ve read this book all year.

Details are woven in about the past through Monono, explaining pieces of what happened to the world and what it was like before it ended.I do wish we had been unable to appreciat a little les about the natural environment.

I ’ m curious about the killer trees and the way some animals have evolved over time.

( And thank goodness we only have to wait until September for it!) .I highly recommend he Book of Koli.

Books with the same Available Languages

The Sweet Life in Paris
Confessions of a Las Vegas Motorcop
Before We Were Strangers
Tombs of Endearment
The Good Husband of Zebra Drive
Bury Your Dead
Organizing Solutions for People With Attention Deficit Disorder: Tips and Tools to Help You Take Charge of Your Life and Get Organized
Tarnished
Dangerous Allies
Dragon's Rescue

Books with the same Categories

The Forest of Hands and Teeth
Life After Legend
The Maze Runner
The Bone Clocks
Reached
The Gender Secret
Eye of the Storm
A Highly Unlikely Scenario, or a Neetsa Pizza Employee's Guide to Saving the World
The Prophet of Yonwood
Children of the Thunder

Same Year of the Publication

The House in the Cerulean Sea
Mysterious Messenger
The 1976 Psychological Assessment of Ted Bundy (Development of the Violent Mind)
Those Who Know
Tyrannosaurus Wrecks
The Wail Of The Woods
The Groom Will Keep His Name: And Other Vows I've Made About Race, Resistance, and Romance
Hashtag The Horizon: an anthology edited by
The Engineer's Wife
Forbidden Lust

About Authors

© Nicole Waggonner