The Dead Virgins

4
India Sommers is a librarian and a talented autho, so when a stranger sks her opinion on an ancient coin she is happy to oblige but when the same man is murdered less than an hour later, it swiftly becomes obviou that there is far more to the situation than meets the eye.

ecognising her unique talents for historical reference, she is quickly recruited by Brandon Walker, a Security Service intelligence officer investigating the strange disappearance of a very special young bo.

As the facts unravel, they find that an ancient artefact linked to the cult of the Vestal Virgins from ancient Rome may hold key to her whereabouts and Brandon draws on India 's vast historical knowledge to unravel clues that date right back through history to the time of the great flood.

Soon, the full horror and mind blowing truth of what they have discovered becomes clear and they become involved in a race against time in a orrific and shocking finale.
Year of the Publication
Available Languages
Asin
B0085O2H5O
Number of Pages
323
Original Title of the Book
Mortuus Virgo
Publication Date
Published December 10th 2013 by Silverback Books (first published July 24th 2011

Public Commentary

Post a Comment
You should sign in to post a comment
rated it

I could n't choose to spend time with people like thi, and ence did n't eally enjoy spending time with them whilst reading this.

rated it

Strangely enough the historical details -- told in protracted infodumps -- are the best part of a memoir.

Each time the hero wakes up or regains consciousness only to have someone Infodump the solution.

rated it

Anothe novel deftly interweaves the 64AD narrative of Rubria, a vestal virgin in the time of Nero, with India 's present-time adventure.

For me, ay it linked ancient intrigue with present-day mayhem was very reminiscent of Dan Brown, and in fact I would characteriz this as a rather gentler story very much in the style of The DaVinci Code.

I see to find conspiracy thrillers an imperfect fit for me as th reader because I like details presented as facts in novels to be facts in truth, and so that just is n't necessary in this enre.

I liked that neither the characters nor the narrator took themselves completely seriously and nicely punctuated the story with humour.Once my disbelief had been firmly defenestrated, I found it an njoyable read.

Despite my quibbles above, I obviously adored the way Ashman tied together a historical mystery and the lor of Rubria into a long-hidden conspiracy.

With its web of wide-reaching conspiracies tied to ancient religious artifacts, The Dead Virgins is an njoyable light thriller that will appeal to fans of Dan Brown, Sam Bourne, and Indiana Jones.Note: I received the book through Goodreads First Reads program.

Books with the same Available Languages

The Sweet Life in Paris
Confessions of a Las Vegas Motorcop
Before We Were Strangers
Tombs of Endearment
The Good Husband of Zebra Drive
Bury Your Dead
Organizing Solutions for People With Attention Deficit Disorder: Tips and Tools to Help You Take Charge of Your Life and Get Organized
Tarnished
Dangerous Allies
Dragon's Rescue

Books with the same Authors

A Land Divided

Books with the same Categories

Before We Were Strangers
Tombs of Endearment
The Good Husband of Zebra Drive
Bury Your Dead
Tarnished
Dangerous Allies
Christmas at Carnton
Girl in the Shadows
If You're Reading This, It's Too Late
The Trials of the Honorable F. Darcy

Same Year of the Publication

Confessions of a Las Vegas Motorcop
It's Not Shakespeare
Cruelty To Innocents
Graveminder
Ember and Ash (Castings, #4)
Phantom Evil
A Singapore Love Story
Delivered from Evil: True Stories of Ordinary People Who Faced Monstrous Mass Killers and Survived
Vespers Rising
The Last Word

About Authors

© Nicole Waggonner